‘The Show’ must go on

October 2, 2012
Comments off
60 Views

Fan favorite Kuchera vows to be better than ever at MFC 35

By MFC Staff

Go out with a bang. Go out on his shield. Go down swinging. Go out on a winning note.

There are various ways fighters call out their final appearance. They just have that one little bit of desire left in them.

At first glance, it would appear as though Jason “The Show” Kuchera fits that bill. One of the most popular fan favorites in the history of the Maximum Fighting Championship, Kuchera will re-emerge at MFC 35: Explosive Encounter for the first time in over two and a half years. Feel free to dub it a comeback as Kuchera is eager to erase the sour taste left lingering from his last outing. But he isn’t yet prepared to call it his last fight.

“Who said it’s only one more?” touted the likeable veteran. “There may be more to come. Of course, that all depends on how this fight plays out.”

Kuchera (5-5) will clash with fellow hard-throwing pugilist Paul “The Punisher” Grandbois (4-4) at MFC 35, and the pair will open up the AXS TV Fights card airing live from the Mayfield Conference Centre in Edmonton, Alberta, on Friday, Oct. 26. Kuchera and Grandbois, both of whom now fight out of Edmonton, will be in the ring when the card launches at 10 p.m. ET/8 p.m. MT/7 p.m. PT (check local listings for channel designation).

Kuchera developed quite a fan following over the years, a run that started back at MFC 13 in 2007, putting him right up there with such crowd-pleasers as his onetime rivals Dwayne Lewis, Aron Lofton, and David Heath, title challengers Mukai Maromo, Ryan McGillivray and Jason MacDonald, and former champs Douglas Lima and Patrick Cote. While pure skill wouldn’t necessarily garner Kuchera a spot among that cast, qualities like raw power and heart make him an all-star. (more…)

Comments

comments